Maintaining financial responsibility is important in the Silver state, and required in order to register an automobile with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Although there are other options available, the majority of residents choose to meet these requirements by purchasing auto insurance. In order to properly fulfill the state’s financial responsibility laws all protection policies must carry liability insurance of at least $15,000 for bodily injury or death to a single person in an accident with $30,000 for two people or more, as well as $10,000 for property damage as the result of a single accident. Simply purchasing this coverage, however, will not suffice. Residents need to ensure that the state Department of Motor Vehicles is properly updated with the correct information to prevent accidental fees or lapses in coverage.
In order to make sure that resident motorists have the proper amount of Nevada auto insurance and that state records are accurate, the Department of Insurance has recently created Nevada LIVE (Liability Insurance Validation Electronically). This program is designed to quickly and efficiently communicate information between policy providers and the DMV. In order to register a vehicle, motorists must now present evidence of coverage that contains at least one registered owner’s name, the name of the company supplying the protection plan, the policy number, the effective date, and the expiration date to the DMV to be entered into the system for quick validation. It’s important to note that registration is not complete until one’s information has been properly entered into the application, but luckily much of this information can be entered or updated over the Internet.
Understanding NV Auto Insurance Records
With Nevada’s new LIVE program a resident could use the Internet to check on and update any insurance related information in order to keep the Department of Motor Vehicles up to date with policy changes or renewals. Having records that are not current could lead to potential problems. If a vehicle is recorded as being uninsured then the DMV will begin a verification process. A number of letters will likely be sent to the vehicle owner in an attempt to rectify any mistakes, but if records remain the same a motorist may have their registration suspended. In order to reinstate one’s registration, a motorist will likely have to pay a fee and records may even indicate a lapse in coverage. These consequences can be easily avoided, however, by utilizing the resources available to ensure that records are consistently up-to-date.
In order to develop a better grasp of the new system, residents are encouraged to contact either a coverage provider or the Nevada Department of Insurance to find out How Nevada LIVE Works and begin utilizing the tools that are available. Because this system is fairly new, there are some policy providers which may be unaware of the system. Residents are urged to make sure that their insurer knows about Nevada LIVE and is properly relaying all coverage related information. Additionally, using the programs that are available to residents can make maintaining a protection policy easy and convenient, with many of the records now kept online and accessible from nearly any location. Motorists may wish to stay informed about changes in state requirements, because remaining up to date with any possible changes could help a motorist avoid any unnecessary consequences.